The start of the beginning…

Once upon a time, there was a girl named Sue – that’s me. Sue led a happy life with her family and friends, a great job and hobbies that brought her joy. But

She couldn’t walk up and down stairs without difficulty. She had constant, chronic knee pain. She suffered from debilitating sciatica every few months. She felt like an 80yo in a 50yo body. Her doctor saw this. He had been treating her for 23 years, and in February 2016 he said the words she was ready to hear. “I’ve watched you struggle with your weight the whole time you have been my patient. I think you should think about lap-band surgery.”

At first I was taken aback, but then he went on to tell me I was morbidly obese and if I didn’t do something soon – my life expectancy would rapidly deteriorate. I made an appointment to see that surgeon and set off down a path at has led me to here. I was weighed at the doctor’s rooms and I was 136kg. Remarkably, this was not a shock. I had been that weight for about 6 months.

One week ago (April 6, 2017) I had a gastric band placed around my stomach. It was a laparoscopic procedure, so minimally invasive, and only required an overnight stay in hospital. So far I have not had too much discomfort, the wounds have healed up nicely and I have started to lose weight. There is no saline in the band, so my stomach capacity is not diminished as much as it will be when the saline goes in, but it is still smaller than before, so I feel satisfied quicker and for longer. I am rejigging my relationship with food – and so far I feel like it is working.

2 thoughts on “The start of the beginning…

Leave a Reply

