Week 3 (end) : 8kg down (expected slight gain)

So, here I am near the end of Week 3 and starting to eat “normal” foods again, albeit in smaller quantities. I’ve put on a little weight, but since I still have no saline in the band, this is an expected gain. My post surgery guidebook from the surgeon says it’s totally normal, so I am not worried by it. Besides, I am really starting to feel and see some differences. People have started to notice I am losing weight. Clothes that were once stretched acrosss my hips now move freely and some even swing around. My so-called “relaxing pants” (a pair of black elastic-waist shorts that I have owned for about 3 years) are now loose around the middle and some pants won’t stay up at all without a belt. 

I went  clothes shopping today (well, I went to Rivers to buy shoes and bought clothes too!) and found some cute black and white pants in a stretchy fabric in a size 20. I took a punt and bought them without trying them on. They fitted me perfectly. It has been about 4 years since I’ve been able to even THINK about doing that! The pants will be even looser by the time we holiday in Port Douglas and they will be great for next summer. I am looking forward to going back to work on Wednesday and moving around a bit more too. I am hoping the extra weight might come off again before I have my first follow up visit on May 2.

My back is behaving now, and my knee pain has been gone for a month. Soon I will get in touch with my mate Lissa who has offered to be my walking partner a couple of times a week. We will start small and gradually increase our distance as my joints become better conditioned. I am feeling very positive and less tired with each day. 

Bring on Week 4!

Leave a Reply

