Week 7 – No pain, no gain 11.7 kg lost

Today I went back to have another band adjustment. It did not go as smoothly as last time. The Dr had to dig around to find my port with the needle.  Not once, but TWICE. It hurt. A lot. Last time the whole process took around 20 minutes. This time it was the better part of an hour. I am still sore from all that digging, but I had 0.5ml added to the band, so the size of my stomach is now smaller. I could feel the difference straight away. Luckily I brought lunch from home today. Three spoonfuls of bolognese with a little cheese was more than enough for me. In fact, I couldn’t finish it. For dinner tonight it was steamed fish in a bag and some steamed veg. A serve about a third of what I would have eaten 2 months ago. What’s interesting to me is how little I eat now and still feel satisfied.  And also, how little I think about food in between. 

The Dr is pleased with my progress and says I have the right attitude and expectations of the process, which is pleasing to me too.  It’s amazing how I get more work done in my day by not thinking about food. I realise now that I did that a lot. Now I just don’t really focus on it too much (despite how it looks when you read this blog). 

The next step will be to increase my physical activity in order to boost the weight loss. I have already started moving around at work more. Last week I had to kneel at work, and I got up easily! I climbed 3 flights of stairs and I wasn’t sweaty and puffing at the top. I can walk a circuit of the school, and not be limping afterwards. And THAT is the best side effect of all. FEELING better. Looking better is just a bonus. 

Hopefully things will settle quickly after this adjustment. The next one is in 3 weeks, so I’ll keep you posted.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

